Conference

Academic quality is a crucial part of an educative Model UN experience…. It is not necessarily the end itself, but it is certainly the means to the end.

Our goal is to inspire the most talented young people and become the best Model UN in China from the very beginning.

It has been 8 years since IMUNC’s first crisis simulation conference took place on July 28, 2009. In these eight years, we, as one of the earliest conferences to focus on crisis simulation, have successfully created a widely-recognized crisis simulation format. At the same time, we have never stopped on the path of academic innovation. From the U.S. Senate in 2010 to the Council of the European Union in 2011, from the UN Secretariat in 2013 to the Diplomatic Corps in 2014 and the League of Arab States in 2015, IMUNC has been consistently advocating for the perfection of the crisis simulation model. Today, we will continue on the paths taken by our predecessors and finished this journey to excellence.

After the conclusion of each crisis simulation, we have always taken some time to think about how crisis simulation could be better developed. We are not even sure whether the answer to this question exists, but since we have chosen the arduous journey of excelling ourselves, we will move forward with confidence. To us, past glory is both honor and bottleneck. We learn lessons from our past mistakes and absorb experience from past achievements, and we will facilitate our delegates to become their better selves by higher-quality and more logical academic designs. Thus, no matter how great our past designs are, we will always have room to improve.

2016 is the ninth year of our conference. It is a brand new start. We will uphold the principles set by our predecessors and spare no effort in designing a crisis simulation system that is closer to perfection based on years of experience and feedback.

We will also be welcoming a dynamic change at IMUNC this year. IMUNC UN Division will be officially renamed to Innovation Division. From 2015, we have been experimenting different conference settings and rules. During these experiments, we have constantly received feedback and support from our delegates on rules of procedure, committee design, agenda setting and means of discussion. These different voices encourage and inspire us to change. We have discovered that only by tirelessly innovating, by creating and designing conference based on the actual need of each and every committee, by abandoning the banality hidden behind the negative peace during sessions, can we truly reflect the actual international environment. It is for sure not a sea of serenity, but a battlefield of multiple dimensions where interests are exchanged and wars are fought. The Innovation Division of IMUNC 2016 will focus more on how designs and settings could facilitate the efficiency of the debate, how innovations can provide delegates with an immersive and panoramic experience. No matter our topic is about politics, history, economy or international cooperation, our constant pursuit is to enable delegates to experience a more realistic learning experience in real world settings.

For our Law Division, the stereotype of boring traditional courts has never been our label. In IMUNC 2016, we will continue to work closely with our academic partners, Prelawyer Association of China University of Political Science and Law, and Jurisprudential Association of Youth of East China University of Political Science and Law, to spread the notion of rule of law. They will form the academic team of the Law Division with other elite students from renowned institutions. As law enthusiasts, we believe that laws should be believed in. Our academic team will create an ambience and environment of rule of law for delegates through refreshed conference design and experience. We will help our delegates understand how to respect the law in arguments on legislation and how to revere the rules in trials. In this year’s conference, we will not only, as we have always been doing, guide delegates to focus on the present through delving into the past, but also encourage delegates to transcend the present. Delegates will wander between the past and the future, pander between national interest and personal rights. Through this process, they will learn to observe the tangible frontiers of social development in a redesigned and refreshed view of the world and explore the prospect of law.

Academic Design

Since its foundation in 2008, IMUNC has been known for its unique conference designs. IMUNC is the indisputable leader in the field of Model United Nations for the eventual purpose of education, and we are constantly improving upon our conference designs to help our delegates become their better selves. The design of IMUNC is based on a fundamental and unique concept, that is, we care more about whether our academic designs bring delegates educational purposes than whether our simulation of the world is accurate in every details or not.

Aiming for achieving educational impact through Model United Nations completely changed IMUNC’s overall academic design. No matter our delegates play the roles of national leaders in the Crisis Division, individuals or states in the Innovation Division, or participants of the rule of law in the Law Division, the academic structures of the committees are always serving for the purpose of maximizing the educational experience for delegates. The structure of IMUNC is thus fundamentally different with other Model UN conferences.

Principle of Minimal Intervention

One aspect of the change stemming from our focus on providing an educational experience is the change of the role of Academic Directors. In many other Model UN conferences, Academic Directors play important parts, with rights of approving all documents, deciding the order of speech of delegates, ruling an action as “out of order”, guiding delegate discussions, among others. However, that also means that they take grave responsibilities, some of which they are not able to shoulder. Contrary to common belief, Academic Directors usually do not know what is happening in all corners of the conference. Even their understanding in certain areas of the topic may seem shallow compared to delegates who have conducted extensive research in that field, not to mention their rights of approving documents and arranging speech orders which have inherent flaws. In short, intervention from Academic Directors at times has only negative impacts.

We believe Model UN is about connecting great delegates and deciding to change. Therefore, we try our very best to give delegates maximum space to act, present, and imagine. Academic Directors at IMUNC play the roles of observers and advisors, instead of moderators. That means delegates rather than Academic Directors control how the conference develops. However, this is more than a simple “downgrade” of Academic Directors. Our academic designs revolve around how to train delegates, rather than Academic Directors, to take on responsibilities and get the most out of the conference.

In fact, “Out of Order” simply does not exist in IMUNC. During the conference preparation process, delegates will be constantly reminded the rules of procedures of the conference and the importance of writing documents. Regarding the agenda, delegates will be able to decide where the discussions are headed. Delegates, rather than Academic Directors, determine the eventual outcome of the conference.

While the Principle of Minimal Intervention sounds risky, it has become a great success. Delegates understand that they are shouldering great responsibilities. Thus, they fully devote themselves to the conference and perform exceptionally. Our eight years of experience makes this mechanism great.

Info Flow

IMUNC started its digitalization process in early 2010. Our initial goal is to cut the amount of paper used in conference to protect the environment and save cost. However, we gradually realize the potential and many more advantages of a fully digitized conference. Info Flow allows us to present our conference in an unprecedented way with great efficiency, real time connectivity, and complete coordination among committees. You must be curious how this mechanism is possible: after all, we will have to ensure that a massive amount of information can flow freely across committees, that all delegates can access the news portal in real time, while preventing any security breaches.

Info Flow is our answer.

Info Flow is an information linkage system developed by IMUNC. It originated from a brilliant idea. In fact, Info Flow is like an online portal for all things IMUNC during the conference. Here, all news reports, editorials, latest resolutions of the UN, public statements released by cabinets, and speeches made by presidents are uploaded and pushed to delegates in real time through our website. With Info Flow, we allow delegates to utilize their electronic devices to connect with other delegates, the Academic Directors, and the entire conference. Meanwhile, delegates can communicate with each other through Info Flow in real-time from any place in the conference area. This replaces the traditional “pages” and provides great convenience for our participants. Delegates have access to their accounts of Info Flow, and their latest statements and decisions may flow instantly across the conference.

We also advocate in expanding the functions and improving the stability of Info Flow. In 2012, over 1,000 news reports and documents were published through Info Flow with an uptime of 99.994%. In 2013, we brought updates to real-time communication and significantly improved platform performance. There were no service failures during the conference and the uptime was 100%. Through the integration of past successes, the payload of Info Flow decreased over 50% during IMUNC 2014 and deep integration with IMUNC’s next-generation conference management system, iPlacard. In 2015, while continuing the tradition of 100% uptime, the optimized Info Flow achieved unsupervised automated operation. Meanwhile, the sister project of Info Flow, single committee information linkage system, was implemented for the first time.

Network at the venues has been the bottleneck of improving Info Flow performance. IMUNC began purchasing Wi-Fi routers since 2013, and currently possesses 48 routers to compose iNetwork, our conference wireless network. All IMUNC conferences have free Wi-Fi coverage, and we are continuing to purchased 3G and 4G routers to improve broadband connection capability. In IMUNC 2016, we will, for the first time, manage our network on an infrastructure level: Info Flow will be operating in an intranet, and instant, low-latency information linkage would be made possible.

会议

学术质量是一场成功达成教育意义的模拟联合国会议所必需的组成部分……学术不是目的本身,但它肯定是达成目的的一种手段。

从创建开始,我们的目标就是激励最有才华的年轻人,并成为中国最好的模拟联合国会议。

2009年7月28日,爱梦IMUNC第一次召开了危机联动会议,至今已有八年时间。八年来,爱梦作为全国最早接触危机联动体系的会议之一,成功地创立了一套被广泛认可的危机联动会议模式。与此同时,我们从未停下学术创新的脚步。从2010年的美国参议院到2011年的欧盟会场,从2013年的联合国秘书处到2014年的外长团与特殊角色再到2015年的阿拉伯国家联盟,八年来,爱梦一直在致力于完善危机联动体系。如今,我们遵循前辈的脚步,继续这一未竟的旅程。

在每一次举办危机联动会议的同时,爱梦也在思考,危机联动究竟该如何更好地发展?对于这个问题,我们甚至不能确定答案是否存在,但既然选择了追求卓越的漫漫长路,我们便只能怀揣信念,勇往直前。过去的辉煌对我们而言亦是荣耀,亦是瓶颈。在过去的成就中,我们获得经验,吸取教训。对于爱梦而言,我们将通过更优质、更科学的学术设计,帮助每一位代表成为最好的自己。因此,无论曾经的设计如何,我们总有可以改进之处。

2016年,是爱梦IMUNC的第九个年头。这是一个全新的开始,我们将秉承前辈们的信念,综合数年来的经验与反馈,力求做出一个更接近于完美的危机联动会议体系。

今年,爱梦同时也迎来了一个极具生机的变化。爱梦常规委员会分支正式更名为创新委员会分支,从2015年开始,爱梦常规委员会开始尝试着不同的会议模式和会议规则。期间,我们也不断收到来自代表的反馈和支持,对于规则、委员会设计、议题设计和讨论形式……这些不同的声音在鼓励和激励着我们改变。我们发现,唯有创新,唯有真正结合每一个会议的实际需求来制定、设计会议,唯有抛弃过往陈腔滥调似的一团和气,才能让平静的海面泛起波澜,才能让更多代表明白那看似稳定的国际环境背后,还有许多的斗争、利益在残酷地上演。2016年的爱梦创新委员会,更看重的是,什么样的设计和模式能让会议更有效的进行,什么样的创新可以让代表更融入会议,感受会议。关于政治、历史、经济、国际合作,我们一直的追求,是为了让代表感受全真世界下更加真实的教育体验。

爱梦的法学分支也从未让刻板与枯燥的传统法庭印象成为自己的标签。在IMUNC 2016,我们将继续与亲密的学术合作伙伴中国政法大学准律师协会、华东政法大学青年法学研究会携手并肩传播法治理念。他们将一道和其他来自各大知名院校的学术精英们组成爱梦法学分支学术团队。作为法律人,我们相信法律需要被信仰,IMUNC 2016法学分支学术团队将全力为代表们创造法治的氛围与环境,带来全新的会议设计与体验。我们愿帮助代表们在立法的争执中懂得尊重法律,在司法的环节中学会敬畏规则。在本年度的会议中,我们将不仅一如既往地引导代表回溯过去、关注现实,更再一次地鼓励代表超越当下——在历史和未来间徘徊,在国计与民生间凝思,站在一个全新设计的超然世界观中去看待可触及的社会前沿,去探寻法的纹理与前路。

学术设计

长久以来,IMUNC以其独创并极富特色的会议体系著称。IMUNC是以教育意义为最终目的的模拟联合国领域无可争议的领导者,我们也一直致力于提升我们的会议体系,帮助代表实现更好的自己。整个IMUNC设计基于一个基本的、独一无二的理念:即,在IMUNC,我们在乎会议的设计是否能够为代表带来教育体验,胜于我们对创造一个微型的、仿真的世界的追求。

教育为最终目的彻底改变了IMUNC的全局会议设计。无论代表扮演的角色是危机分支内的国家领导者、创新分支内的个人或是国家、亦或是法学分支内的法治参与者, 一切会议的设计以最大化代表的教育体验为目的。整个会议的生态因此完全不同于其他模拟联合国会议。

最低限度干涉原则

以教育意义为最终目的的模拟联合国带来的重要改变之一涉及主席团在会议中的地位。在大多数模拟联合国会议中,主席团在会议中扮演重要角色。他们有权利审核所有文件、决定代表发言次序、判定某某行为“不符合规则流程”、引导代表讨论……然而,这意味着他们承担着极其重大的责任。甚至,是他们难以承担的责任。与很多人的判断不同,主席团往往不了解会议的每个角落发生了什么。主席团对议题某个具体方面的了解,也许没有某个做过研究的代表深入。而主席团对文件审核和对发言次序的把握更是为人诟病。总而言之,主席团对会议的干预很多时候只能起到负面作用。

我们决心改变这一点。在IMUNC,主席团的角色将从主持者变为会议的组织者和推动者。这意味着代表,而不是主席团,将控制会议的走向。然而,我们不是简单的将主席团降级:整个IMUNC的学术设计围绕着如何让代表,而不是主席团,承担责任并得到最大的锻炼而进行。

根据IMUNC学术设计中最重要的“最低限度干涉原则”,“Out of Order”将不复存在。在整个会议准备过程中,代表将被不断提醒会议的规则流程和文件写作的重要性。而就议题而言,代表将拥有权利决定讨论的方向。代表——而不是主席团——决定一次IMUNC的走向。

尽管看起来这种会议设计充满风险,然而事实上,最低限度干涉原则取得了极大的成功。当代表感到自己身上的权利和责任时,他们真正意义上地全身心投入会议,并有精彩的表现。IMUNC八年的经验让这套体系空前完善。

Info Flow

从2010年开始,IMUNC开始投资进行会议数字化革新。我们当然希望通过这种改革来降低全会用纸量以保护环境;更重要的是,通过数字化改革,我们能够完成以往在模拟联合国会议中无法想象的目标。你一定好奇这套体系是如何在技术上完成的:毕竟,我们要保证大量信息在不同委员会之间流动,让所有代表均可以即时看到媒体公开报道,确保信息的安全……

答案,即是Info Flow。

Info Flow是IMUNC开发的会议信息联动系统,它的诞生源于一个绝佳创意。事实上,Info Flow相当于IMUNC内部微缩世界的门户网站:在这里,媒体的报道、评论、联合国的最新决议、内阁的公开决定、总统的演讲等等都被上传,并即时通过浏览器推送给代表和主席团,让代表在会场的任意场所,通过包括笔记本电脑,平板电脑和手机在内的电子设备,获知全会动态。与此同时,IMUNC独创的内部通讯系统让代表可以通过Info Flow即时沟通,这一体系彻底替代了传统的“意向条”。代表拥有Info Flow系统的登陆用户名和密码,他们的最新声明、决定将无需经过延迟,实时在会议中流通。

我们也不断致力于改进Info Flow系统的功能和稳定性。在2012年的会议中,Info Flow发布了1000多篇新闻报道和文件,稳定时间为99.994%。在2013年的会议中,我们带来了新的实时交流功能更新并且显著优化了平台性能,会议期间,Info Flow成功实现了100%稳定运行且没有发生宕机。通过往年系统优势整合,在IMUNC 2014,Info Flow的页面访问量成功突破100,000,Info Flow负载下降了50%以上,并且实现了与IMUNC新一代会议管理系统iPlacard的深度整合。2015年,在继续100%稳定运行时间的情况下,经过优化的Info Flow成功实现了全程无维护运行;同时,Info Flow的姊妹项目——单委员会信息联动系统也首次得到应用。

会场网络历来是制约Info Flow信息联动运作的重要瓶颈。IMUNC自2013年开始购买无线路由器(Wi-Fi),目前已经拥有48台路由器组建iNetwork无线网络,所有IMUNC会议都拥有免费的无线覆盖;与此同时,我们也在不断购买3G、4G路由器提升会场宽带质量。在IMUNC 2016,我们将首次实现硬件自行组网,突破会场网络瓶颈,Info Flow将会运行在自有网络内,实现瞬时的信息联动。